Honorary Fellows

The title “Honorary Fellow of the Commonwealth of Learning” recognises outstanding contributions by an individual to distance education in areas such as: leadership and service, published works including courseware, lectures and presentations and mentorship.

Consideration is typically limited to citizens of Commonwealth countries and the title is conferred for life. COL names Honorary Fellows during the Pan-Commonwealth Forums, and does not seek nominations for this award.

The latest awards were presented at the Ninth Pan-Commonwealth Forum on Open Learning (PCF9) organised with The Open University, UK in Edinburgh from 9 to 12 September 2019.

Group photo of Honorary Fellows at PCF9 September 2019.

Pictured (left to right): Professor Clement Sankat, Professor Datuk Dr Asma Ismail, Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu, Professor Asha Kanwar, COL President and CEO, Dr Linda Sissons, Mr Kamaraj Keppanan, Ms Anne Gaskell, representative of Professor Mandla Makhanya, and Professor Nageshwar Rao.

COL Honorary Fellows

2017-2019 Awards, presented at PCF9

  • Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu
  • Ms Anne Gaskell
  • Professor Datuk Dr Asma Ismail
  • Mr Kamaraj Keppanan
  • Professor Mandla Makhanya
  • Professor Nageshwar Rao
  • Professor Clement Sankat
  • Dr Linda Sissons

2014-2016 Awards, presented at PCF8

  • Mr Martin Bean
  • Professor Rajesh Chandra
  • Dr Luz Marina Longsworth
  • Professor Naveed Akhtar Malik
  • Professor Tolly Salvator Augustin Mbwette
  • The Honourable Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang
  • Ms Chetna Vijay Sinha

2011-2013 Awards, presented at PCF7

  • The Honourable Danny Faure
  • Professor Olugbemiro Jegede
  • Dame Carol Kidu
  • Dr Olabisi Kuboni
  • Professor Dato’ Wong Tat Meng
  • Dr Caroline Seelig
  • Dr Daniel Tau
  • Professor James Taylor

2009-2010 Awards, presented at PCF6

  • Professor M. Aminul Islam
  • The late Dr Roger Mills
  • The Honourable Naledi Pandor
  • Ms. Peecheeta Spencer
  • Professor John Tarrant

2007-2008 Awards, presented at PCF5

  • Professor Anuwar Ali
  • Professor Uma Coomaraswamy
  • Professor Brenda Gourley
  • Dr Myra Harrison
  • Professor Abdul Khan
  • Mr Mahesh Chandra Pant
  • Professor Barney Pityana
  • Mrs Esi Sutherland-Addy

2005-2006 Awards, presented at PCF4

  • Dr Felicity Binns
  • Dato’ Dr Gajaraj Dhanarajan
  • The Honourable Zobaida Jalal
  • Father T.V. Kunnunkal
  • The Honourable Fiamé Naomi Mata’afa
  • HE Professor Michael Omolewa
  • The Honourable Burchell Whiteman

2003-2004 Awards, presented at PCF3

  • Ms Janet Jenkins
  • Professor Peter E. Kinyanjui
  • Professor Badri N. Koul
  • Dr H. Ian Macdonald, O.C.
  • Professor Vasireddy Sivalinga Prasad

2001-2002 Awards, presented at PCF2

  • Dr Dominique A.M.X. Abrioux
  • Professor Clifford D. Blake
  • The late Right Honourable Lord (Asa) Briggs of Lewes
  • Ms Shona E. Butterfield
  • Sir John S. Daniel
  • Dr Glen M. Farrell
  • Ms Jennifer A. Glennie
  • Dr Dennis H. Irvine
  • Dr S. Langi Kavaliku
  • Professor Geoffrey R.V. Mmari
  • Dr Roslyn L. Morpeth
  • Dr Hilary D. Perraton
  • The late Right Honourable Lord (Walter L.M.) Perry of Walton
  • Professor Ram G. Takwale
  • The late Alhaji Hafiz S. Wali

1998-1999 Awards, presented at PCF1

  • The late Professor V.C. Kulandai Swamy
  • The late Lord Young of Dartington
  • Professor G. Ram Reddy (posthumous)
  • Professor Donald F. Swift (posthumous)

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Sign Up Now